Lime Ridge – A Lesson in Attentiveness



Lime Ridge, originally uploaded by Stephen Foster.

I’ve been shooting with a rangefinder lately. I’m starting to discover some sloppy habits that are missed when using an SLR.

The patch of light in the foreground is distracting because it is out of focus. My preference is to have the foreground sharp. In this case I would want the entire frame to be sharp. Had I been viewing through-the-lens I would likely have paid more attention and attempted to keep greater depth-of-field. With a rangefinder one must be mindful that the lens sees differently.

About Stephen Foster

I have been pressing a camera to my face since I was twelve years old; if you look closely, you can see the marks. View all posts by Stephen Foster

One response to “Lime Ridge – A Lesson in Attentiveness

Leave a Reply

